Share Apps Between Organizations

1. Can I share apps between organizations? 

Yes. ArborXR's content sharing functionality enables you to easily share apps between organizations you are a part of with just a few clicks. This saves you the hassle of uploading the same app into every organization you are a part of. 

This feature is only relevant for users leveraging ArborXR's multi-organization functionality so be sure to read our Organizations FAQ


2. When should I leverage this functionality?

  1. If you are an XR solutions provider and have created a separate organization for each of your clients, content sharing enables you to upload an app once to your organization, then easily share it with one or more of your client's organizations with just a few clicks. 
  2. If you are an enterprise and source content from multiple external XR solutions providers, each of your solutions providers can create and manage their own ArborXR organization then privately and securely share apps to your organization. This enables the solutions providers to manage apps and versions, while you can manage your devices and the deployment of said apps to your devices. 

There may be other scenarios where you may want to share apps but these are the two most common use cases.


3. How can I share apps between my organizations?

  1. Navigate to Content Library.
  2. Click into the app that you would like to share to be taken to its overview page. 
  3. Click on the tab Sharing.
  4. Click the Share button to open the sharing modal.
  5. Select either Share latest version (auto-updating) or Share specific versions.
    1. Share latest version (auto-updating) will automatically share the latest version of the app you upload without additional intervention. For example, if you share an app with an organization then after the fact upload a new version, the recipient organization will receive this latest version automatically. For more information on version management please see this article.
    2. Share specific versions will only share the specific version(s) you select at the time of sharing. One or multiple versions can be selected. For more information on version management please see this article.
  6. Select the organization(s) you would like to share the app with.
  7. Click Share

You are only able to share apps to organizations that you are a part of. If you are not a user in the organization that you would like to share the app to, an Organization Owner or Admin from that organization will first need to add you as a user. Note that you do not need a specific role in the organization you share to (i.e., you do not need to be an  Organization Owner or Admin).

4. What is the flow for organizations receiving the app? 

Organization Owners and Admins from the receiving organization will receive an email notifying them that a app was shared. The app will immediately appear in their Content Library and will be available for deployment to devices. 


5. Can recipient organizations edit the app's name or upload new versions?

No. Receiving organizations are only able to edit the description of shared apps and deploy shared apps to devices. For more information on deploying apps to device groups please see this article


6. As the organization sharing an app, what happens when I upload a new version of the app via the Versions page?

It depends on which option you selected when sharing the app:

  • Share latest version (auto-updating) will automatically share the latest version of the app without additional intervention. For example, if you share an app with an organization then after the fact upload a new version, the recipient organization will receive this latest version automatically. 
  • Share specific versions will only share the specific version(s) you select at the time of sharing. One or multiple versions can be selected. 

For more information on version management please see this article.


7. How do I revoke access to apps I have shared? 

  1. Navigate to Content Library.
  2. Click on the name of the app that you would like to revoke access from to be taken to its overview page.  
  3. Click on the tab Sharing.
  4. Select the organization(s) you would like to revoke access from.
  5. Click Revoke Access.    


8. As the organization receiving an app, what happens when the organization that shared it revokes access?

Organization Owners and Admins from the receiving organization will receive an email notifying them that access to the app was revoked. The app will immediately be removed from their Content Library and from any devices that have it installed the next time they come online and connect to ArborXR. 


9. Which user roles can share apps?

Organization Owners and Admins can share apps. For more information on the different user roles offered by ArborXR, please see this article


10. Can I share content externally to organizations I am not a part of?

Not at the moment but this is on our product roadmap. In the meantime, request an Organization Owner or Admin from the organization(s) that you would like to share your app(s) with to add you as a user. For more information on user management please see this article.

You do not need a specific role in the organization you share app(s) to (i.e., you do not need to be an Organization Owner or Admin). 


Have a suggestion or feature request? We'd love to hear!
Message ArborXR


Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us